FZ Jülich

Helmholtz Institute Münster (FZJ) was founded by the Helmholtz Association in 2015, in cooperation with University of Münster, RWTH Aachen University and Forschungszentrum Jülich and is operated as a branch of Forschungszentrum Jülich.

FZJ focuses on electrolyte development for electrochemical energy storage systems, both theoretically and practically and also includes a business chemistry branch.

A new building is planned for 2021 in Münster and FZJ currently operates on three sites: Jülich (solid ceramic electrolytes, anionic and cationic conductors and their modeling), Aachen (ageing) and Münster (liquid, polymer and hybrid electrolytes development, theoretical simulations and business aspects).

In particular, it forms the so-called ‘Battery Campus’ in Münster, together with the MEET Institute (Münster Electrochemical Energy Technologies), which currently hosts the Münster branch of FZJ. The group of E. Paillard at FZJ focuses on safer electrolytes, among which polymer electrolytes and their critical interface with alkaline/alkaline earth metal anodes.

Data of involved researchers:

Dr. Sayan Das (male): is currently a postdoctoral researcher at FZJ. Dr. Sayan Das obtained his Bachelor of Science in Physics from the University of Calcutta in 2006. He has completed his Master of Science in Physics from the same university in the year 2010. He has started his research work in the Department of Solid State Physics of Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS) in 2012. He was awarded his PhD from Jadavpur University in 2017. After that, he has been working as a Research Associate in IACS for six months and then as a post-doctoral fellow in the battery R&D center of Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST, South Korea) in the Department of Energy Engineering. He co-authored 8 peer-reviewed papers as a first author in international scientific journals.

Julia Wellmann (female): Is currently a PhD student at the Münster branch of FZJ in the group of Prof. Martin Winter, jointly supervised by Prof. Elie Paillard (Politecnico di Milano). She obtained her Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from the University of Münster in 2016, followed by the Master of Science in Chemistry in 2019. In 2016 she joined Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology (MEET) as a student assistant and started working on batteries, since then she has been mainly focusing on lithium-sulfur batteries and lithium metal batteries. In 2018/2019 she conducted her master thesis on the characterization of solid electrolyte interphases on lithium metal electrodes in the group of Dr. Adam Best at the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) in Australia. In 2019 she started her PhD at FZJ on interphases for next generation anodes such as lithium metal and calcium metal. In 2020 she joined VIDICAT. She (co-)authored 3 peer-reviewed publications in international scientific journals.